Circuit Court Judges

(R) denotes Resident Circuit Judge

Amy M. Bertani-Tomczak (R)
Susan T. O’Leary 
Carla Alessio-Policandriotes 
Michael J. Powers (R) 
Richard C. Schoenstedt - Chief Judge

Residential Subcircuit Judges

Judicial Subcircuit No. 1 

David Carlson
Daniel Rippy

Judicial Subcircuit No. 2

James Jeffrey Allen
Daniel Kennedy 

Judicial Subcircuit No. 3 

John Anderson

Sarah-Marie F. Jones 

Judicial Subcircuit No. 4 

Paula A. Gomora 
Carmen Goodman

Judicial Subcircuit No. 5 

Barbara N. Petrungaro 
Raymond E. Rossi

Associate Judges

Dinah J. Archambeault
Brian E. Barrett 
Matthew G. Bertani 
Bennett J. Braun
Robert P. Brumund
Edward A. Burmila, Jr.
M. Thomas Carney
Jessica Colon-Sayre
Elizabeth Dow
David Garcia 
Chrystel L. Gavlin 

Frederick V. Harvey
Theodore J. Jarz 
Victoria M. Kennison 
Cory D. Lund 
Raymond A. Nash
Roger D. Rickmon 
Art Smigelski
Ken Zelazo


Office of the Chief Judge

The Office of the Chief Judge is located on the 4th Floor of the Will County Courthouse, 14 W. Jefferson Street, Room 439, Joliet, IL  60432.  The Chief Judge is elected by the Circuit Judges for the purpose of overseeing the many administrative functions of the Judicial Branch.  He / she does not instruct other judges on how to rule on matters within their courtrooms.

The Office of the Chief Judge also accepts requests to waive the payment of fees to the Circuit Clerk's office (poor person's petitions), requests for judges to perform wedding ceremonies, adoption records requests, and requests for special assistance pursuant to the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA).  Persons requesting these services should take the elevator to the 4th floor of the Will County Courthouse, exit to your right and look for the signs denoting the office.  Personnel will be available to assist you with these matters.

The Chief Judge has the responsibility of overseeing the Judicial Branch of the 12th Judicial Circuit Court.  This includes the following departments:

  • Adult Probation
  • Juvenile Probation
  • Juvenile Detention
  • Mandatory Arbitration
  • Orders of Protection
  • Public Defender
  • Law Library
  • Jury Commission
  • Court Reporting Services

The Court Administrator reports to and assists the Chief Judge with the management of these administrative functions.The Chief Judge cooperatively works with but does not manage other offices such as the Circuit Clerk, State's Attorney and Sheriff.  These offices are administered by independently elected officials.To contact the Office of the Chief Judge, please call (815) 727-8540.